Metric: New song "Lie Lie Lie" from Pagans in Vegas, Listen Now.

Photo by: Norman Wong

Metric’s unveils their new song “Fortunes” from their forthcoming album Pagans in Vegas calling the song “a dark, spacey synth-pop song elevated by a roaring chorus and vocalist Emily Haines’ emotional range. She hops between bitterness and elation with ease.” 
Metric also introduces the new limited edition “Pagan Time Capsule,” a collector’s item curated personally by the band. See the video HERE. Limited to 500 units, the engraved wooden box contains an autographed cassette tape and customized memorabilia, as well as a digital download of the new album. It’s available at the band’s website HERE

After spending a full summer touring the U.S. as the special guests of Imagine Dragons, Metric will play several festivals throughout September including Life Is Beautiful, Made in America and Music Midtown before heading out for a full European tour in October. See full tour dates below. 

The LP is set for release on September 18 via the band’s own label MMIand is available for pre-order on iTunes with an instant download of “Cascades,” “The Shade,” “Too Bad, So Sad,” and now, “Fortunes.” Physical and digital pre-order packages are available on the band’swebsite including a variety of exclusive, autographed items and 2 bonus tracks. The limited edition EP, The Shade, includes “Cascades” alongside first single “The Shade,” additional album track “Too Bad, So Sad” and exclusive bonus track “Office Towers Escalate.” 

Metric recently launched The Pagan Portal, a free app featuring advance access to new music. The app is available for download on iOS/Apple and Android platforms here and allows fans to unlock streams of songs from the band’s upcoming album well before the music can be heard anywhere else. Users of the app may also receive occasional notifications regarding special announcements and access to perks such as pre-sale tickets, contest opportunities, discounts and more.

Pagans in Vegas will be the first of two albums that were born out of Metric's time spent writing in 2014—guitarist/producer Jimmy Shaw at his studio in Toronto, delving into his wall of modular synthesizers, and front woman Emily Haines with acoustic instruments in Nicaragua and Spain. This period of writing yielded an unprecedented amount of material across two major musical veins and when the band realized they had composed enough music for two very different albums, they decided to let each collection of songs stand on their own. As Pagansreveals itself to be much more electronic and dancey than anything in Metric's past, the as-yet-unnamed follow up LP promises to be quite the opposite.

The new album is packed with reverent references to artists who’ve inspired them, from Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure and Underworld, all the way back to Kraftwerk. “The songs that made it onto Pagans in Vegas weren’t written with an overarching concept in mind,” says Shaw, “with this record we were making music for the joy of it…we tried to be as bold as possible. All we want is to feel like all we got didn’t cost us everything, even if we never win.” 

Metric—Haines, Shaw, Joules Scott Key and Joshua Winstead—self-released their last two albums on five continents and have gone on to sell millions of records worldwide. In 2009, Metric became the first band in history to have their first ever Top 20 hit at U.S. commercial radio without the backing of a traditional label. Their most recent releases earned multiple Juno Awards including two for Album of the Year, one for Artist of the Year and Producer of the Year for Shaw, who has co-produced the band’s last two albums with Grammy nominated John O’Mahony (Coldplay, Sarah Bareilles). 

Metric has seen their music featured in a number of top TV shows including: “Grey’s Anatomy,” “CSI,” “True Blood,” “Vampire Diaries,” “House” and “Girls.” They also wrote the theme song/score music for several Hollywood films including Edgar Wright’s Scott Pilgrim vs The World, David Cronenberg’s Cosmopolis and The Twilight Saga: Eclipse. Their work with acclaimed composer Howard Shore on The Twilight Saga was nominated for both a Grammy Award and an Academy Award. Metric also won a Canadian Screen Award (with Howard Shore) in 2013 for Cosmopolis.
                                                         METRIC TOUR DATES

September 5-6 /// Made In America /// Philadelphia, PA
September 12 /// Indie Jam /// Oceanside, CA
September 18 /// Music Midtown /// Atlanta, GA
September 26 /// Life Is Beautiful Festival /// Las Vegas, NV
October 30 /// Voodoo Festival /// New Orleans, LA
November 21 /// Untapped Festival /// San Antonio, TX
Nov 21-22 /// Whatever Festival /// Houston, TX
1. Lie Lie Lie
2. Fortunes
3. The Shade
4. Celebrate
5. Cascades
6. For Kicks
7. Too Bad, So Sad 
8. The Other Side
9. Blind Valentine
10. The Governess 
11. The Face Part I
12. The Face Part II
13. The Shade
14. Cascades
15. Too Bad, So Sad
16. Office Towers Escalate


Popular posts from this blog