Showing posts from February, 2014

CROWBAR ANNOUNCE NEW ALBUM "Symmetry In Black" Out 5/27/14!

NOLA riff lords CROWBAR will release an all new full length album entitled "Symmetry in Black" on May 27, 2014. The album will be released in Europe on May 26, 2014 via Century Media Records. Founding vocalist Kirk Windstein provides the following comment, "We are so proud and excited about what we have accomplished with this record! The focus, determination and attitude in the band is at an all time high. We are 100% ready to get this Juggernaut rolling and never touch the breaks again. CROWBAR will not be stopped!" "Symmetry in Black" was produced by Kirk Windstein and Duane Simoneaux and was mixed by Josh Wilbur. The new effort will be the latest material from CROWBAR since "Sever The Wicked Hand" was released in 2011. The new effort will be the tenth studio LP, and also marks the 25th anniversary of the inception ofCROWBAR. Windstein continues, "Crowbar is my heart and soul. The music is a part of me that I am extremely proud of. It's …

Swedish doom band Below announce debut album "Across the Dark River"

Epic doom metal band, Below, spent the end of 2013 at Sonic Train Studios in Sweden with none other than Andy La Rocque (King Diamond) to record their debut full-length album. The band is finally prepared to unveil the album title, art, and release the first single from the record. "Portal" is streaming now on, where fans can also pre-order copies of "Across the Dark River". The album will be released on April 15th in North America, and April 14th/11th in UK/Europe.

Below offers a brief quote about the first single, "Portal": "It's a song about being in the presence of spirits, entering another dimension, a portal to the dead."

Below, hails from Sweden and music has influences from late Black Sabbath, Candlemass, and King Diamond, so going with Andy La Rocque as the producer was a clear choice for the group. La Rocque added; "this is one of the heaviest bands I have worked with in the studio in a very long time. And a…

Teenage Time Killer: The Killer Supergroup with Foo Fighters, Slipknot, Black Flag, Lamb of God

Dave Grohl has contributed to a new album by supergroup Teenage Time Killer along with members of Slipknot, Black Flag and Queens Of The Stone Age

Teenage Time Killer, the side-project for Mike Dean and Reed Mullin from Corrosion of Conformity have recruited a huge number of guest stars including Dave Grohl plus Slipknot and Stone Sour frontman Corey Taylor, Dead Kennedys vocalist Jello Biafra will sing comedian John Cleese's poem 'Ode to Hannity' on the record while Lamb of God frontman Randy Blythe will also contribute. 

Other musicians attached to the project, which currently has no release date, include Black Flag's Keith Morris, ex-Queens Of The Stone Age/Kyuss bassist Nick Oliveri, Max Cavalera of Soulfly, Neil Fallon (Clutch), Lee Ving (Fear) and members of The Misfits, Municipal Waste, Red Fang, Goatsnake, Brujeria, My Ruin, Prong, Articles Of Faith and SUNN O))).

Speaking to New York radio station WFMU, Reed Mullin said that Teenage Time Killer was first planne…

GUS G. releases "I Am The Fire" digital single today in North America; debut solo album now available for pre-order and NAMM show Picture Gallery!

OZZY OSBOURNE guitarist and FIREWIND mastermind GUS G. will release his solo debut, I Am The Fire, on March 17th in Europe and on March 18th in North America via Century Media Records! In anticipation of this release, the album's title track (feat. DEVOUR THE DAY) is now available for purchase at iTunes:

Fans can also pre-order I Am The Fire digitally at iTunes or in various physical formats atCM Distro.

For a preview of I Am The Fire, the official video for the album's first single, "My Will Be Done (feat. Mats Levén of CANDLEMASS, ex-YNGWIE MALMSTEEN/THERION)", can be viewed here. An EPK for the album can also be viewed here.

GUS G. handles all guitar, bass and keyboards on I Am The Fire, and is joined by a roster of friends and guests that helped bring his vision to fruition: drummers Jeff Friedl (A PERFECT CIRCLE, PUSCIFER, DEVO) and Daniel Erlandsson (ARCH ENEMY), bassists David Ellefson (MEGA…

INSOMNIUM announces details for new album, 'Shadows Of The Dying Sun'.

Finnish melodic death metallers INSOMNIUM have returned with their sixth full-length, entitled Shadows Of The Dying Sun. Featuring artwork once again by Wille Naukkarinen,Shadows Of The Dying Sun will be released on April 28th in Europe and on April 29th in North America via Century Media Records. All of the drums were recorded at studio SF Sound (with Kimmo Perkkiö) while the rest of the instruments were recorded at studio Korkeakoski with producer Teemu Aalto. André Alvinzi (Fascination Street Studios) mixed the album and Svante Forsbäck (Chartmakers) handled mastering.

The first trailer for Shadows Of The Dying Sun can be viewed here:

Stay tuned for more INSOMNIUM news coming soon!

Shadows Of The Dying Sun track-listing:
1. The Primeval Dark 
2. While We Sleep 
3. Revelation 
4. Black Heart Rebellion 
5. Lose To Night 
6. Collapsing Words 
7. The River 
8. Ephemeral (album version) 
9. The Promethean Song 
10. Shadows Of The Dying Sun 

Apr. 30 - (NL) Tilburg - 013 (w/ Epica)
May 2 -…

PILGRIM: Rhode Island Doom Bringers To Release Sophomore Full-Length.

Wizards and warriors, rejoice, for the chosen one has returned! Since the early 2012 unveiling of their debut sonic behemoth, Misery Wizard, fans and critics alike have patiently yet anxiously awaited the second chapter from Rhode Island doom bringers, PILGRIM. WelcomeII: Void Worship.

Wielding eight new epic tracks laden with tales of swords and sorcery, death, doom and destruction, II: Void Worship wasrecorded at Moonlight Mile Recording by audio architect Mike Moebius and supplies an extraordinary quality of tone and heaviness. With II: Void Worship,PILGRIM takes a new approach to their songwriting, replacing meditated, repetitive hypnosis-inducing dirges with more calculated and demented power-house riffs. They build, shape, and climb into frenzied climaxes and fade into sweet sonic releases, molding perfectly crafted rock songs into twisting spires of evil doom metal masterpieces. It is obvious that PILGRIM has matured, both musically and as individuals, in their past two years of…

MORBUS CHRON premieres new track, "The Perennial Link", via Decibel!

In anticipation of their upcoming release, Sweden's MORBUS CHRON has premiered a new track, "The Perennial Link", taken from their buzz-worthy full-length, Sweven, due outMarch 4th in North America via Century Media Records. Already named "one of the best albums of the year" (, Sweven intertwines dark death metal with progressive song structures and melodies that are reminiscent of bands such as ATHEIST, VOIVOD, CORONER and late-DEATH. To hear "The Perennial Link", head over to Decibel

For another preview of Sweven, be sure to check out the previously released track, "It Stretches In The Hollow".

To pre-order Sweven, please visit CM Distro for a variety of physical formats.

March 22 -- Stockholm (SE) -- Pussy A-Go-Go
March 23 -- Oslo (NO) -- Revolver
March 24 -- Copenhagen (DK) -- KB18
March 25 -- Berl…