"Juarez," the new video from the Brooklyn-based indie rock trio We Are Augustines, premieres today on the band's social media sites. (See below for links.) Raw and poetic, the clip captures a road trip across the border towns of the Southwest as an internal odyssey unfolds in the song. "Juarez" was directed by Matt Amato, who also lensed the video for "Book of James," the lead single from the band's acclaimed debut album, Rise Ye Sunken Ships, and features audio from the brand new We Are Augustines iTunes Session. You can check out the video at www.weareaugustines.com.

We Are Augustines iTunes Session is available now exclusively on the iTunes Store. The session was recorded live and leads off with the brand new composition"Ballad of a Patient Man," which crescendos from a tender ballad into a thunderous declaration of love, and includes the sparse, poignant "Ohio," a Damien Jurado song that was the b-side to "Chapel Song." It also features live versions of four songs from Rise Ye Sunken Ships - "Juarez," "Chapel Song," "Book of James" and "Headlong Into the Abyss" - plus a cover of Bruce Springsteen's Tunnel of Love-era "Tougher Than The Rest." See below for track listing.

We Are Augustines will appear on "Last Call with Carson Daly" on April 26. The band, which just wrapped up its tour with Band of Skulls at The Fillmore in San Francisco, CA, will perform at the Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival this Saturday, April 21, and at the Sasquatch Festival over Memorial Day weekend.

"'Chapel Song' and 'Book of James' rang out like hymns over this desert cathedral, and McCarthy's stentorian voice...quavered with intensity on the piano ballad 'Philadelphia (City of Brotherly Love),'" said Buzzbands.la of the band's performance at Coachella last weekend.

"All of We Are Augustine's songs are stories; most are tinged with loss, but they're primarily about triumphing over it than sinking into it," noted Time Out New Yorkin a review of one of the band's SXSW performances. "The crowd around me felt it; the floor literally shook during 'Chapel Song.' McCarthy is the kind of frontman I wish more bands had, and it's rare to look around after a true rock & roll set like that and see so many smiling faces."

Rise Ye Sunken Ships (Oxcart Records - Atlantic/WEA Distribution) was named 2011's "Best Alternative Album" byiTunes. It ranked among NPR Music's "Top Five Concept Albums of the Year," with WNYC's John Schaefer noting: "the sound here might belie the somber nature of the story being told: Singer Billy McCarthy's brother James lost a lifelong battle with depression and committed suicide. The two half-brothers' journey through foster homes, addiction, mental illness and institutionalization could make for a wearying tale, but McCarthy's music is cathartic, anthemic and ultimately triumphant."

"'Sunken Ships' has an excitement and a valor that spits in the eye of the depressing events that drove it," said the New York Daily News. "The guitars ring and flicker with a U2-like sense of uplift, while McCarthy's vocals have a gritty determination that speaks of a stirring fraternal love."

"At the heart of the album is longing and loss," observed Interview while Relixpraised its "soulful and energetic rock." "Rather than wallow in the past, the band casts for redemption, treating each confessional track like a lesson in perseverance," said The Washington Post.

We Are Augustines was formed by Billy McCarthy and Eric Sanderson after they left their previous band, Pela. They are joined by Rob Allen on drums. Rise Ye Sunken Ships was just released in the U.K., where it's already garnered substantial acclaim. noted: "its instantly memorable hooks combine driving guitars with cathartic, closing-time vocals that brim with sorrow and frustration" while The Sun named "Book of James" its "Single of the Week." The band's rendition of "Mama, You Been On My Mind" appears on the Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan Honoring 50 Years of Amnesty International compilation.

Check out We Are Augustines' network television debut on "Late Show With David Letterman," performing "Chapel Song":

The tracklisting for We Are Augustines iTunes Session is as follows:

  1. Ballad of a Patient Man
  2. Juarez
  3. Chapel Song
  4. Ohio
  5. Book of James
  6. Headlong Into The Abyss
  7. Tougher Than The Rest


Popular posts from this blog



ALL HAIL THE YETI Shares Details on Upcoming Full-Length Album, out Spring/Summer 2018